Skip header navigation

Professor Ian Deary

Co-Investigator | University of Edinburgh

+44 (0)131 650 3452

Image of Ian Deary

Ian Deary is Professor of Differential Psychology at the University of Edinburgh, and Director of the Medical Research Council-administered Centre for Cognitive Ageing and Cognitive Epidemiology. He graduated in Psychology and Medicine at the University of Edinburgh, and studied there for his PhD. He practised psychiatry in London and Edinburgh before moving to academic psychology. His principal research interest is human mental abilities, especially: the origins of cognitive differences; the effects of ageing and medical conditions on mental skills (cognitive ageing); and the influence of intelligence on health and wellbeing through the life course (cognitive epidemiology). He directs the Lothian Birth Cohorts of 1921 and 1936, and the 6-Day Sample follow-up study of the Scottish Mental Survey 1947. Ian Deary is one of five academics on the Executive of the Dementias Platform UK. He has published over 750 peer-reviewed articles, many on human cognitive ageing, and is the author/co-author of four books.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the British Academy, the Academy of Medical Sciences, the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, and the Royal College of Psychiatrists. He was President of the International Society for the Study of Individual Differences. He held a Royal Society-Wolfson Research Merit Award for his work on human cognitive ageing.

Ian Deary’s other awards include: Distinguished European Personality Psychologist Award from the European Association for Personality Psychology in 2010; Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Society for Intelligence Research, awarded in December 2014; James McKeen Cattell Fellowship for Lifetime Achievement in Applied Psychology from the Association for Psychological Research, awarded in May 2015; Distinguished Contribution Award from the International Society for the Study of Individual Differences, to be awarded in July 2015; and the Tenovus Medal for Outstanding Research in Biomedicine, to be awarded in September 2015.

Scroll back to the top